News Flash

LD 08 - Legislator Anthony A. Piccirillo

Posted on: June 28, 2021

“17 Young Scholars Awarded by Legislator Piccirillo with the Character of Excellence Award"

Henry - Merrimac Char of Excellence Winner - Leg. Piccirillo 2021

                                                     FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


“17 Young Scholars Awarded by Legislator Piccirillo with the Suffolk County Character of Excellence Award”



Earlier this month Suffolk County Legislator Anthony A. Piccirillo honored 17 young scholars throughout the 8th Legislative District. 5th grade students from Bayport Blue Point, Connetquot, Sachem and Sayville School Districts were honored at their moving up ceremonies with the 8th Legislative Districts Suffolk County Character of Excellence Award. Many Elementary School’s in the 8th Legislative District nominated a graduating 5th grade student for this prestigious award. The Character of Excellence award goes to a student who represents the school and community well both in school and at home.  Each award recipient demonstrates integrity, accountability, solid decision making skills and helps peers without being asked.

            The Character of Excellence Award helps to highlight the exemplary characteristics shown by our youth who demonstrate the ability to grow into strong and resourceful adults. “I was happy to award these 17 young scholars the Character of Excellence award, after the adversity they have faced during the 2020-2021 school year” said Legislator Piccirillo. “To see these young adults rise up against the challenging school year and accomplish so many great things was very inspirational” added the Legislator. 

“Congratulations to the17 outstanding students on their prestigious awards, I am looking forward to seeing the many amazing things you will continue to accomplish” said Legislator Anthony Piccirillo. The following students were honored for their outstanding achievements in Character:

Academy Street Elementary School –Kaeltn Aiello

Sylvan Avenue Elementary School- Christopher Veverk

Blue Point Elementary School- Dillon Bowen

Edward J. Bosti Elementary School- Zofia Slonina

Idle Hour Elementary School- Kylah Getty

John Pearl Elementary School- Lila Shapiro

Hiawatha Elementary School- Aubree Walter

Merrimac Elementary School- Henry Lewandowski 

Cayuga Elementary School- Michael LaRegina

Wenonah Elementary School- Hannah Hageman

Waverly Ave Elementary School- Thomas Hespos, Regina Nuss, Luca Marchitto, Howard Dickson

Wenonah Elementary School-Hannah Hageman

Cherry Avenue Elementary School- Avery Whalen

Lincoln Avenue Elementary School- Norah Manheim

Sunrise Drive Elementary School- Sarah Haakonson


Congratulations to the award winners and the rest of the 2021 graduating class of 5th graders!


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in LD 08 - Legislator Anthony A. Piccirillo